Microwave Meatloaf – It’s a Revelation!

Well, maybe it’s not that great.  But it is surprisingly good!

Last time we had temps above 90 this summer, I was totally unprepared.  So, realizing how hot it was going to be this week, I got my act together and planned a menu of mainly cold or microwaved meals.  When I told friends that I was going to microwave a meat loaf, “eww – gross” was the immediate reaction.  Given my history in the kitchen, they had a pretty good chance of being right.  But I’m happy to report that they were so wrong!  Microwave meatloaf is about as tasty/tasteless (depending on your view of meat loaf) as one done in the conventional oven and takes only 10 minutes instead of 50.

I got my recipe where I have found many other good ones:  Better Homes and Gardens New Dieter’s Cookbook.  Not only was my meat loaf quick, it was healthy too!  Ha!

Microwave Meat Loaf with Garden Sauce (sauce not pictured!) Looks YUCK but tastes pretty good.

Here’s what was in it:

regular veggie soup mix

low-fat yogurt

dried dillweed

beaten egg

ground beef

shredded carrot

chopped celery

quick-cooking oats

This entry was posted in Cooking, Kitchen, Summer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Microwave Meatloaf – It’s a Revelation!

  1. kat says:

    Oh that’s soo cool! Who knew you could microwave a meatloaf lol. Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ If you have any, I would love some advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

