My New Project: NaNoWriMo

Can I write 50,000 words in 30 days (not including these words, of course)?  Maybe.  I have told friends and family members I can do it, thereby risking a bruised ego if I don’t hit that  mark.  It’s Day 6, I’m 8048 words in and I’m already looking for every excuse to do anything but write my story.  So I thought I’d take a quick hop over to my neglected blog and ramble a little.

For anyone who doesn’t know, NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month, a little event dreamed up by one procrastinating writer to torture motivate fellow procrastinating and wanna-be-best selling writers to glue their butts to a chair and get on with it already.  He chose November for it’s normally miserable weather (though given the recent snowstorm, October probably would have been fine, too).  November would be fine, except that it’s also the start of the holiday season, which as any woman knows, is code for busy season.  Accountants may tear their hair out in April;  we tear it out from late November to early January.

Despite my whining, I am enjoying NaNoWriMo.  It is giving me the freedom to just vomit fiction upon a page and not care whether or not it makes any sense (an approach which I may be carrying over to this blog post right now).  Who knows what may come of it?   Sara Gruen’s “Water for Elephants” (yes the one made into a motion picture starring Robert Pattinson) started as a NaNoWriMo novel.

Well, anyway, back to the grind.  By the way, I’ll consider incorporating any random plot line you’re willing to throw at me (can you tell I’m getting desperate!).

This entry was posted in Hobbies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New Project: NaNoWriMo

  1. Domestiç Reclusë says:

    Guess what? I’ve nominated you for this blog award: http://domesticrecluse.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/versatile-blogger-award

Leave a Reply

