My Secret Stress Buster: Crafting with the Kids

I scored some beautiful Valentine’s Day-themed paper in the dollar section of my favorite store (Target, of course) and the girls and I got to work making decorations for the house.  One of the things I love about doing arts and crafts with my kids is that there are no rules – we make things up as we go along.  It’s very freeing, much more so than when I make things on my own.  I find I’m able to embrace the process, as they do, rather than the product.  And when it does come down to the results, they are surprisingly wonderful.  Creating with the girls is often better than a yoga class or a trip to the gym when it comes to relieving stress and finding my way back to the always elusive present moment.  Ohm!

Here are some of our Valentine’s creations:

Door decorationWindow decorationsMagazine beadsQuilled heart - detail from door decoration      Close-up of door decorationWindow decoration

This entry was posted in Decorating, DIY Projects, Family, Home Entertainment, Mommy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Secret Stress Buster: Crafting with the Kids

  1. terri says:

    They are absolutely gorgeous!! Have a great Valentines Day!!!

  2. Louise says:

    The Valentine”s Day decorations are beautiful! You are so creative. Wish I was there this weekend… Love to all.

  3. Domestiç Reclusë says:

    I’m not much of a Valentines Day person, but this year’s going to be different. I am thinking about decorating more for these li’l non-holidays, just for the fun of it, but I hate spending an arm & a leg of the stuff! Thanks for the ideas, now I’m off to see if I can find a good deal on supplies… 😉

  4. yeti9000 says:

    Wow…man, those are gorgeous! I’m with you on the crafting front…it does give one a curious sense of calm when finished.. I love it!

Leave a Reply

