Greek Yogurt at its Best

Greek yogurt is very “in” as a health food right now and has just recently made its appearance in our fridge thanks to Glop.  Over and over, he tells me how good it is for me.  I admit it is like regular yogurt on steroids, with twice the protein of traditional yogurt (as much as a small chicken breast!), but it has been a hard sell for me.  I am a traditional yogurt fan, as in the more fruit and sugar on the bottom the better, so the first time I tried Greek yogurt I was underwhelmed.  It tasted tangy and sour.  Plus, it’s expensive ($4.99 for 32 oz of Chobani vs. $1.99 for 32 oz of store brand).  The girls did not like it, either.

Yesterday, however, I was browsing the contents of the fridge for lunch when a smoothie recipe (below) on the back of the Chobani carton caught my eye.  I thought if there was one way I could take eating Greek yogurt, this just might be the answer.  I dumped the ingredients into my 10-year old blender and could not believe the quality of the smoothie that yogurt made.   Thick and creamy, with the fruit adding just enough sweetness to overcome the sourness in the yogurt.   Better than TCBY for sure.  Suffice to say, I’m going to be a little bit healthier, our grocery bill a bit higher from now on.  I wish there was a way to make all the things that are good for me this tasty.

Here’s the recipe straight from the Chobani carton (and no, I am not being paid to endorse them!):

                                                                                                    

1 C Strawberry 0% Chobani Greek Yogurt
1/2 C frozen or fresh raspberries or blueberries (I used frozen)
1/2 C milk
1 banana
2 ice cubes

Place all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.  If using frozen fruit, omit ice cubes. 

Abby likes it!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Greek Yogurt at its Best

  1. glip says:

    My apologies to anyone who received the earlier version of this post – I accidentally hit publish before I was ready!

  2. gardenerat60 says:

    Yogurt also called as Curd in India is part of the daily diet for the billion and growing. I just love it plain and simple.
    It is good to see variants of the curd all over the world.Hope to taste the greek one someday.

Leave a Reply

