Tales from the Crock Pot

What’s on my mind most mornings, despite now having three kids instead of two, is still “What’s for dinner?”.  A previous post on this topic goes into great detail about my lack of skills at the range. Long story short, I’m always looking to cut corners on dinner prep.  Easy, make-ahead meals are mandatory here.  And so, with the days getting shorter and the to-do list getting longer, I turned, not without some trepidation, to my trusty crock pot yesterday morning.

My Rival and I have a long history of making overcooked, inedible messes that invoke grimaces and tantrums around the dinner table.  It’s true that some nights my kids refuse to even take a bite, preferring to go to bed hungry rather than to upset their little palates.  But still my crock pot and I soldier on, trying to get it right.

Is it the crock pot? Is it me?  I considered all of this as I brought the Rival up from the basement.  But the thought of getting dinner out of the way before lunch won out.

Now you’re probably waiting for me to tell you about another epic fail.  Ha.  This time, I threw some things in the crock pot and magic happened.  I lived the dream of having a dinner that actually tastes good on the table by 5:30, with nary a groan of dismay to be heard.  I have to credit an awesome new website my sister recently discovered: www.skinnytaste.com.  I made Skinny’s Crock Pot Creamy Tomato Soup and even finicky A. drained her bowl.  I am not usually a tomato soup fan, but the amount of romano cheese, milk, and butter in this recipe took it far beyond Campbell’s.  Not sure it was so skinny for us.

Intrigued?  Skinnytaste has a number of mouth watering recipes for the crock pot and beyond.  My sister has tried several of the site’s other meals with great success, and I baked up a yummy batch of Skinny’s pumpkin chocolate chip muffins just last weekend.  The site has a recipe box where you can save all the skinnytaste recipes you like, too.  I don’t know if you’re like me, but one reason I get cooking fatigue is that I constantly misplace recipes and forget what actually worked in the first place.  By the time I actually start assembling ingredients, I’m already worn out.

Bottom line:  Skinnytaste has restored my faith in the crock pot.  I am sure there will be more tales from the crock pot, with more happy endings like this one.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Mommy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tales from the Crock Pot

  1. Marci Scorpa says:

    Thank you… Your blogs put a smile on my face every time

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. glip says:

    Cannot believe I wrote “two kids instead of three” in my first version of this post. Mommy brain has completely taken over. Yikes.

Leave a Reply

